





Strasbourg, 14 December 2009

CDL-PV(2009)004syn Or. Engl

EUROPEAN COMMISSION FOR DEMOCRACY THROUGH LAW (VENICE COMMISSION)

81st PLENARY SESSION (Venice, 11-12 October 2009)

SYNOPSIS

The Commission

- endorsed the final opinion on the draft Law on amending the Civil Code of Armenia;
- held an exchange of views with Mr S. Aliyev, Head of Department of Legislation and Legal Expertise of the Office of the President, and adopted the opinion on the draft Law on the Status of municipalities and the opinion on the draft Law about obtaining information on activities of the Courts of **Azerbaijan**;
- adopted the opinion on the draft Law on Normative Acts of **Bulgaria**;
- held an exchange of views with Mr A. Demetrashvili, President of the State Constitutional Commission of Georgia, and was informed on progress in the constitutional reform process;
- held an exchange of views with Mr A. Minashvili, Chairman of the Foreign Relations Committee of the Parliament of Georgia, about the preparation of amendments and supplements to the Law on "Assembly and Manifestations of Georgia";
- held an exchange of views with Ms C. Taktakishvili, Deputy Chairperson of the Legal Committee of the Parliament of Georgia, and adopted the final opinionon the draft amendments to the Law on occupied territories of Georgia;
- endorsed the amicus curiae brief on the interpretation of the Constitution of Kazakhstan concerning the participation in the Customs Union within the Euro-Asian Economic Community;
- was informed by Mr Talgat Donakov, Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration of Kazakhstan, about that country's future plans for judicial reform from 2010 to 2020;
- adopted the interim opinion on the draft revision of the Constitution of Luxembourg;
- adopted the opinion on the draft law on the status of Euroregions of **Moldova**;
- was informed on constitutional developments in **Romania** and in **Switzerland**:
- was informed about progress in the preparation of the opinion on the compatibility with European standards of the lack of recognition of legal personality for the religious communities in **Turkey** and in particular on the question of the right of the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Istanbul to use the adjective "Ecumenical";
- adopted the joint opinion with OSCE/ODIHR on the draft law on organising and conducting peaceful events in **Ukraine**;
- adopted the Guidelines on the international status of election observers;
- adopted the report on the cancellation of election results;
- adopted the report on **constitutional amendment**:
- decided to pursue its works on the report on European standards as regards the **independence of the judicial system**;

- was informed on follow-up to: the Opinion on the constitutional situation in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the powers of the High Representative and the Opinion on the Draft Amendments to the Constitution of **Bosnia and Herzegovina**; the Joint Opinion by the Venice Commission and OSCE/ODIHR on the law on amending some legislative acts on the election of the President of **Ukraine** adopted by the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine on 24 July 2009; the opinion on the draft Law on the prohibition of discrimination of **Montenegro**; the Joint opinion on the draft Law on Assemblies of the **Kyrgyz Republic** by the Venice Commission and OSCE/ODIHR and the joint opinion on the amendments to the Law of the Kyrgyz Republic on the right of citizens to assemble peaceably, without weapons, to freely hold rallies and demonstrations by the Venice Commission and OSCE/ODIHR;
- was informed on the upcoming meeting of the Bureau of representatives of regional and linguistic groups for the World Conference on Constitutional Justice;
- held an exchange of views with representatives of the Committee of Ministers and the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe:
- elected, for a term of two years: Mr Gianni Buquicchio, (Italy), as President of the Commission; Mr Jan Helgesen (Norway) as First Vice-President and Chair of the Scientific Council to be established; Mr P. Paczolay (Hungary) and Ms F. Flanagan (Ireland) as Vice-Presidents; Ms K. Koufa (Greece), Mr V. Zorkin (Russian Federation), Mr K. Lee (Republic of Korea) and Mr A. Endzins (Latvia) as members of the Bureau; the chairs of the subcommissions as follows: Mr K. Tuori (Finland) (Fundamental Rights); Mr W. Hoffmann-Riem (Germany) (Federal State and Regional State); Mr V. Dimitrijevic (Serbia) (International Law); Mr. J. Velaers (Belgium) (Protection of Minorities); Ms H. Suchocka (Poland) (Judiciary); Mr J. Jowell (United Kingdom) (Democratic Institutions); Mr Mifsud Bonnici (Malta) (External Relations); Mr P. van Dijk (Netherlands) (Working methods); Mr C. Grabenwarter (Austria) (Joint Council on Constitutional Justice); Mr J-C Colliard (France) as Vice-President of the Council for Democratic Elections;
- fixed the dates of the next sessions as follows:
 12-13 March 2010; 4-5 June 2010; 15-16 October 2010; 17-18 December 2010.